Skip to main content

What's Up Magazine

Mayor Announces Living Landmark Awardees

Jun 02, 2011 11:01PM ● By Anonymous

Annapolis Mayor Joshua J. Cohen is pleased to announce the recipients of the inaugural Living Landmarks Award for Continued Leadership in Cultural Heritage.

The awards will be presented on June 8 at 4 p.m. at the Banneker-Douglass Museum, home to the Maryland Commission on African-American History and Culture, and co-host for this event. This event is free to the general public.

In recognition of the leadership demonstrated by those who have contributed so significantly to the preservation of our community’s cultural heritage, Mayor Josh Cohen honors Annapolis’ greatest assets –our Living Landmarks.

Mayor Cohen recognizes:


  • Pip Moyer and Ellen Moyer for their contribution to preserving and promoting our City’s cultural heritage through their dedicated service to the citizens of Annapolis in support of historic preservation, the arts and the environment.
  • Yevola S. Peters for her contribution to preserving the City’s significant African-American heritage, educating its youth to the value of community service, and providing a voice for affordable housing for our residents.

The criteria for selection as a Living Landmark nominee includes:

  • Current or former residents of Annapolis
  • A demonstrated, ongoing commitment to protecting and promoting excellence in Annapolis’ cultural heritage
  • Individuals or leaders of Annapolis-based organizations

To attend Living Landmarks Awards, please send an email to or contact Lisa Craig at 410-263-7961.