Skip to main content

Dr. Detrich Wins 2011 Cecil Award

Oct 14, 2011 06:00PM ● Published by Anonymous

A physician who has treated Eastern Shore patients for nearly four decades was honored recently with Shore Health System’s prestigious Arthur B. Cecil, Jr., MD Award for Excellence in Healthcare Improvement award. Terry Detrich, MD, neurologist and Medical Director of the Primary Stroke Center at Memorial Hospital at Easton, was selected as a Cecil Award finalist for his leadership in providing quality care to stroke patients. Dr. Detrich and his team developed a stroke program recognized by the American Heart Association and American Stroke Association for achieving the highest standards of stroke care for 24 consecutive months.

Arthur B. Cecil, MD, was a surgeon at Memorial Hospital from 1950 until 1988. The award was established to recognize Dr. Cecil’s commitment to using grand rounds to share the latest developments in the field of medicine.

“Although grand rounds no longer take place at our hospitals, physicians still see themselves as lifelong learners and want to share what they learn with their colleagues,” says Michael Tooke, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Shore Health System. “Today, the Cecil Award recognizes physician leaders for their contributions to educating and engaging their colleagues in quality improvement initiatives that continuously improve the quality of care available to our patients.”

Art Cecil, Jr., whose father was the first recipient of the Cecil Award in 1983, announced this year’s winner at a special ceremony at the Tidewater Inn in Easton.

The other finalists for the 2011 Cecil Award were intensivists Martin Forrest, DO, D. Greg Oliver, MD, and Peyman Otmishi, MD. This group of physicians was nominated for their leadership in instituting multidisciplinary rounding in the intensive care units, which has improved team work, enhanced coordination of care, and dramatically reduced healthcare acquired infections for ICU patients.

The other 2011 Cecil Award nominees were:

• Kevin Chapple, PharmD, Manager, Clinical Pharmacy
• Scott Friedman, MD, Medical Director, Cardiac Services
• Brendon Paltoo, MD, cardiologist
• Jane Wang, MD, Medical Director, Queen Anne’s Emergency Center



Linda Mastro, Director, Corporate Communications 
Phone – 410/822 – 1000, extension 5507; cell – 410/829-6511  
Fax – 410/770 – 8603  
Website –  

Community local news
  • Race/Walk Start: 8:00 am - Half Marathon 8:45 am - 5k Jogging Joe Shafran Memorial Run 9:00 am...

  • North American Sea Glass Festival

    10:00AM — 04:00PM

    The 12th Annual North American Sea Glass Festival will be held on Saturday, September 23rd, 10 a....

  • Concours d' Elegance 2017


    After nine years, the 11th annual St. Michaels Concours d’ Elegance returns to the waterfront law...

  • 27th Annual West Annapolis Oktoberfest

    10:00AM — 05:00PM

    Enjoy a day filled with beer, German food, West Annapolis businesses, artist and craft vendors, l...

  • The Baltimore Book Festival

    11:00AM — 07:00PM

    Join Baltimore’s annual celebration of the literary arts as the Baltimore Book Festival returns t...

  • Blazers. Bourbon. Cigars

    06:00PM — 09:00PM

    Join Historic Annapolis at the William Paca House and Garden for the original premiere Gentlemen'...

  • Clays 4 A Cause


    New venue this year! Come test your aim at this sporting clays events at Shrader’s Bridgtown Mano...

  • Wine on the Beach

    11:00AM — 07:00PM

    Rediscover the best of Maryland fare at Wine on the Beach, a celebration of the burgeoning wine i...

  • Easton Airport Day

    10:00AM — 02:00PM

    Look out below! It’s a rubber chicken bomb! On Saturday, September 30th, 10 a.m.–2 p.m. at Easton...

  • Wine on the Beach

    11:00AM — 07:00PM

    Rediscover the best of Maryland fare at Wine on the Beach, a celebration of the burgeoning wine i...

  • Hope Re-Imagined: Esperida

    06:30PM — 10:30PM

    Ancient Greeks recognized that community members experiencing mental illness need healing care an...

  • The fourth annual Anne Arundel County Lifeline100 Bicycle Event hosted by Anne Arundel County Pol...



Towne Social