Skip to main content

What's Up Magazine

Your 2013 Preakness Primer

May 16, 2013 08:14PM ● By Anonymous

In a time seemingly long, long ago, the race consisted of a crowd simply taking in the elegance and pageantry of the equine competition. Those onlookers were there to observe if the Kentucky Derby winner would have the chance to vie for the Triple Crown with a win at Pimlico Race Course.

The newer crowd prefers the entertainment and mischief of the Preakness infield, which there has been no shortage of over the years. This year’s Preakness will be no different.

On Saturday, Pimlico will host Black-Eyed Susan Day, benefitting the Maryland Affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure, with musical acts Goo Goo Dolls, Rodney Atkins, and Rachel Farley.

Rapper Pitbull and rising music stars Macklemore and Ryan Lewis will headline Sunday’s InfieldFEST entertainment. Other acts slated to perform include Chevelle, Florida Georgia Line, Afrojack, and Kristen and the Noise.

Aside from music stretching across several genres, there is also a 7,600 square foot graffiti wall where fans can transform into artists and write their own messages, as well as the popular bikini contest, which takes place on the Jägermeister Second Stage.

As for the race, Kentucky Derby winner Orb, owned by Stuart S. Janney, a Baltimore County resident, is looking to become the 34th horse to win the first two legs of the Triple Crown.

In thoroughbred racing history, 33 horses have won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, with 11 of them completing the Triple Crown by also winning the third leg at the Belmont. The last horse to accomplish this feat was Affirmed back in 1978. Last year, I’ll Have Another won the first two legs but was scratched from the Belmont due to tendonitis.

Here is the lineup for the 138th Preakness Stakes:

Post Horse Jockey Odds
1 Orb Joel Rosario 1-1
2 Goldencents Kevin Krigger 8-1
3 Titletown Five Julien Leparoux 30-1
4 Departing Brian Hernandez, Jr. 6-1
5 Mylute Rosie Napravnik 5-1
6 Oxbow Gary Stevens 15-1
7 Will Take Charge Mike E. Smith 12-1
8 Govenor Charlie Martin Garcia 12-1
9 Itsmyluckyday John Velazquez 10-1